lilith 2

Lady Lilith by Dante Gabriel Rossetti

Where is it written
that I must lay beneath
him?

Wonders and paradise
lie before us,
we trod the dust
we’re made from,
side by side,
yet he exhorts
his role on top.

Woman and man,
goddess and god,
a glorious eternity
as two sides
of one coin.

But now
the Father has judged
my husband’s right
to rule over
me, proclaim
privilege above me,
violate my freedoms
on top of me!

It is clear
not Adam,
God, nor Paradise
are worthy
of me.

I am
Lilith.

by
Rod C. Stryker

Leave a Reply

