Of Gods and Zombies

Posted: August 18, 2013 in literature, poetry
Tags: , , , , ,

Zombies outside a window

photo © Ron Sumners

I saw the alphabet zombie

growling for a vowel,

rich and satisfying

in long form and

short.

He brushed past me

to attack them as they

left my mouth,

trailing behind;

those vowels clad

in nothing but

air and words.

I dabbed at them

and watched the zombie’s

frenzied efforts,

groping, swallowing,

craving more & more.

 

I walked down my

bunker stairwell

of words,

hidden from zombies, gods

and other ignorant fools,

and dug my fingers

under the umbrella

of consonants,

where my precious treasure

 

of

a’s, e’s, i’s, o’s, & u’s,

and sometimes y’s,

rested.

 

 

Once satisfied,

I threw on my jacket

to protect against

the backlog of concepts

the zombies like to toy with,

turned off the

lights

and climbed back

into the light of day.

by

Rod C. Stryker

This was published in my book, Exploits of a Sun Poet (Pecan Grove Press). Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

